Any Ideas?
var chatterbox = 'no';

Miss Any?
Still Alive - Sunday, May. 14, 2006
Echo - Thursday, Jul. 07, 2005
small minded - Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004
BS - Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004
Ozzy newsletter - Thursday, Jul. 01, 2004

My Favorites

Now What?


Laundry and the bar

10:49 p.m. - Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2001

After work tonight I had to go the laundromat, since I now have no washer or dryer. I went in started my laundry and decided that since it was about 110 degrees in there that I needed a drink. Luckily the local bar is right next door. I went in ordered a cold one and overheard the current conversations going on. Of course all the topics were the terrorist acts which have now overcome our nation. There was alot of talk about what "they" would do if it were them on the hijacked aircrafts. Lots of talk about bravery, spoken through many bottles of beer of course.

Then they started casting aspersions against all of the middle eastern countries. What is known now is that some "arab" looking men were responsible. But to verbally attack a whole race of people just because they may look like or talk like a "muslim" is totally and completely wrong. The few cowardly criminals and all those that backed them are to blame for this.

While I don't know anyone personally of middle eastern descent, I do not presume to think that they are all terrorists. They were spouting off and name calling and talking about what we should do with all of "them".

It just goes to show you the true ignorance of some people. When emotions are elevated they feel it is acceptable to show their racism and what kind of people they really are. They were spewing out facts that were untrue that they had heard from somebody who somebody else told it to and so on. They hadn't gotten any facts from the news papers, t.v., radio or elsewhere, except maybe a few sound bites they caught while flipping through the channels in search of the Jerry Springer show.

I felt ashamed of these fellow Americans. I realized then, why I don't often go to the taverns. So I left......

Previous - Next