Any Ideas?
var chatterbox = 'no';

Miss Any?
Still Alive - Sunday, May. 14, 2006
Echo - Thursday, Jul. 07, 2005
small minded - Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004
BS - Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004
Ozzy newsletter - Thursday, Jul. 01, 2004

My Favorites

Now What?


New glasses and a dvd player

8:55 p.m. - Saturday, Sept. 08, 2001

Ok so there is no poetry today. Why you ask? Because today was a good day. I ended up not having to work. Which sucks because I could have gotten the kids yesterday instead of today. But I did get to catch up on some sleep by sleeping in. I went to the mall and got some new glasses that were much needed. They do make me kind of queezy though, probably because I am not used to the new prescription. Then it was off to pick up the kids.

My oldest is in kindergarten and had some kind of magazine fundraiser sale, that I had to be the top salesman for. So I brought that to sucker the grandparents into buying some. I picked them up then proceeded to my folks to sell some more. After all sales were final we went back to the mall to get my new glasses.

On the way home from the mall we stopped in town to rent a dvd for them. It will be the first one we see since I just bought the dvd player last night at about 3a.m. at the all night WalMart. We came home I moved my little 19 inch tv on top of the entertainment center, just above the fish tank, then hooked up the dvd player and away we go. Of course being new to dvd's I had no idea how to work it and it was beneath me to read the directions. So after about half an hour I finally got it playing. They are watching it right now and I can see them snuggled up against each other on the love seat, that Tammy Soon decided she didn't want. I am sitting here with a smile on my face and joy in my heart.

And So Begins The Rebuilding of A Life


I was just about to hit the old done button on my thoughts for the day, when I figured out I did have some issues that were a bit serious. I used to have a gambling problem. Every time I would get depressed about money situations I would make them worse by gambling. As I sit here thinking about my life I believe I have transferred the gambling problem to a shopping one. Point 1-Last night I was a little depressed, lonely, whatever, so I decided at 3 a.m. that I would drive a half hour away to get the dvd player I needed. NOT!!! So I went ahead and bought it. Telling myself it was for the kids and they would enjoy watching some movies since I don't have a working vcr. I could have bought a vcr for less than half the price, but then I figured since I dont have a cd player anymore I needed the dvd. Point 2- The glasses I had could have lasted a bit longer. They are two years old but still in working order. They are getting a bit loose on the old noggin but they could have worked. Did I really need to pay $365.00 for new ones? Point 3-Since I bought a new dvd player.........Of course....I need some dvd's. So I bought some.

The kids will enjoy it, as they are right now. And I did want something. But want and need are two different things. So I don't know if I have a shopping problem or if I am just a compulsive shopper. Or are they both one in the same. Oh well, it doesn't really matter that much anyway. I am going to end today's thoughts and go and snuggle up with my girls and fall asleep watching The Emperor's New Groove!!!

Previous - Next